Skip to main content
Tampere University Student's Handbook

Doctoral Programme in Information Studies and Interactive Media (DPII)

The Doctoral Program in Information Studies and Interactive Media has been discontinued from August 1, 2021 on.

The transition period lasts until July 31, 2025, during which time students can complete their studies in the doctoral programme, but there is no longer admission to the doctoral programme.

The research field of information studies has been transferred to the Doctoral Programme of Humans and Technologies (DPHAT) and social science-oriented game studies has been transferred to the Doctoral Programme in Media, Communication and Performing Arts (DPMCP).

Contact information:
Faculty of Information Technology and Communication Sciences
Pinni B Building
Kanslerinrinne 1
FI-33014 Tampere University


Head of the Doctoral Programme: Professor Tuomas Harviainen
Education Specialist: Sari Raudasoja
Education Assistant: Heli Jokiaho
You can contact both the education specialist and education assistant by email itc.doc.tau [at] (itc[dot]doc[dot]tau[at]tuni[dot]fi).

Planning group for the Doctoral Programme (DPII

Chair: Associate Professor Tuomas Harviainen 
University Lecturer Sanna Talja
Professor Olli Sotamaa

Vice dean for research

Professor Juho Hamari

Steering Group for Doctoral Education

Chair: Vice Dean Erja Sipilä


The Dean of the Faculty of Information Technology and Communication Sciences

Professor Jyrki Vuorinen

  • The Dean for example appoints pre-examiners, grants permissions for public defence, appoints staff for the defence (Custos, Opponent, Evaluation board), evaluates Licentiate Theses, approves the changes of supervisors, admits new students, signs degree certificates.


Faculty Council of the Faculty of Information Technology and Communication Science

The Faculty Council meetings are on Wednesdays at 13 o’clock. Material for the meeting must be submitted to the presenting official at least one week before the date of the meeting.

Tasks of the Faculty Council are for example grading of doctoral dissertations, the approval of curriculum and course offerings of the doctoral programme, the approval of selection criteria for new doctoral students, the handling of appeals.

Presenting official at the Faculty Council: Education Specialist Sari Raudasoja

Dates of the Faculty Council meetings


Published: 17.6.2019
Updated: 11.1.2024