Skip to main content

Tampere University Student's Handbook

Doctoral Programme in Language Studies (DPLA)

Doctoral Programme in Language Studies (Study with us)

Contact information:
Faculty of Information Technology and Communication Sciences
Pinni B Building
Kanslerinrinne 1
FI-33014 Tampere University

Head of the Doctoral Programme:  University Lecturer Liisa Mustanoja
Education Specialist: Sari Raudasoja
Education Assistant: Petra Lappalainen
You can contact both the education specialist and education assistant by email itc.doc.tau [at]

Planning group for the Doctoral Programme in Language Studies

Chair: Liisa Mustanoja
Johannes Riquet 
Niina Lilja 
Markku Salmela
Unni Leino
Marja Kivilehto
Mikhail Mikhailov
Doctoral student representatives: Henrik Oksanen and Airin Tegelman


Steering Group for Doctoral Education

Chair: Vice Dean Erja Sipilä


The Dean of the Faculty of Information Technology and Communication Sciences

Pekka Verho

  • The Dean for example appoints pre-examiners, grants permissions for public defence, appoints staff for the defence (Custos, Opponent, Evaluation board), evaluates Licentiate Theses, approves the changes of supervisors, admits new students, signs degree certificates.


Faculty Council of the Faculty of Information Technology and Communication Sciences

The Faculty Council meetings are on Wednesdays at 13 o’clock. Material for the meeting must be submitted to the presenting official at least one week before the date of the meeting.

Tasks of the Faculty Council are for example grading of doctoral dissertations, the approval of curriculum and course offerings of the doctoral programme, the approval of selection criteria for new doctoral students, the handling of appeals.

Presenting official at the Faculty Council: Education Specialist Sari Raudasoja

Dates of the Faculty Council meetings


Published: 17.6.2019
Updated: 1.8.2023