Skip to main content

University management

The top management of Tampere University is made up of the Board, President, Vice Presidents, Provost, Academic Board and Deans. More information and contact details can be found further down this page.


Vuorineuvos (Finnish honorary title), DTech h.c. Jorma Eloranta

Vice Chair
Professor Jussi Välimaa, University of Jyväskylä

DTech Anne Jalkala, Chief Strategy Officer, Vaisala
Professor Johanna Kantola, University of Helsinki
MSSc Ville Tynkkynen, doctoral researcher, Tampere University
Professor Jukka Törrönen, Stockholm University
Professor Outi Vaarala, Senior Vice President, Head of Research & Development, Orion Pharma

Tampere University Members of the Board.
Members of the Board: Jukka Törrönen (left), Outi Vaarala, Jorma Eloranta, Jussi Välimaa, Anne Jalkala, Johanna Kantola ja Ville Tynkkynen.


President Mari Walls.

President Mari Walls

PhD, Professor Mari Walls has been President of the new Tampere University since 2019.

Walls wrote her dissertation on ecological interactions and, after receiving her PhD from the University of Turku in 1989, went on to pursue postdoctoral research at the University of Cornell in the USA in 1989–1991. She has served as professor of biodiversity and environmental sciences at the University of Turku, as programme director at the Academy of Finland, as the director of the Finnish Environment Institute SYKE and as the first president and CEO of LUKE Natural Resources Institute Finland.

Her positions of trust have included memberships in the Finnish Research Infrastructure Committee and the Research Council for Biosciences and Environment at the Academy of Finland, memberships in the boards of the University of Oulu, VTT Technical Research Centre, CSC – IT Center for Science, mutual pension insurance company Varma, Finnish Education Employers, and Universities Finland UNIFI, and memberships of the Supervisory Board of the Finnish Cultural Foundation and the board of Technology Academy Finland. In addition, she has been appointed to the board of NordForsk and the Research and Innovation Strategy Group of the European University Association EUA.

Executive Advisor Hannele Auffermann
Executive Assistant Johanna Harju

Provost Jarmo Takala.

Provost Jarmo Takala

DSc (Tech.) Jarmo Takala has been Provost of the new Tampere University since 2019.

He has served as vice president for research at the former Tampere University of Technology (TUT), as dean of the Faculty of Computing and Electrical Engineering and as head of the Department of Computer Systems. He has also occupied research positions at Nokia Research Center and the VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland. Takala has led numerous national and international research projects. He headed TUT’s international master’s programme in information technology and participated in setting up a bachelor’s programme in information technology and electrical engineering at TUT. Takala is an active member of international scientific associations dedicated to the advancement of information technology.

Assistant Johanna Hellman

Vice President for Research Tapio Visakorpi.

Vice President for Research Tapio Visakorpi

MD, PhD Tapio Visakorpi has been Vice President for Research of the new Tampere University since 2022.

He has served as dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Technology at Tampere University and formerly as dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Life Science at the University of Tampere. Visakorpi was appointed as professor of cancer genetics at the University of Tampere in 2002. He has headed and coordinated countless national and international research projects and has been a member of the Finnish Academy of Science and Letters since 2007. In addition, he has occupied positions of trust relating to the development of national and international research infrastructures and research funding for more than a decade.  

Assistant Johanna Hellman

Vice President for Education Marja Sutela.

Vice President for Education Marja Sutela

DSc (Admin) Marja Sutela has been Vice President for Education of the new Tampere University since 2022.

She has served as vice president for education and RDI at Tampere University of Applied Sciences, overseeing seven fields of study, more than 50 degree programmes and related RDI activities. Sutela has previously worked as professor of public law, assistant professor and researcher at the universities of Joensuu, Tampere and Lapland. She holds docentships in the University of Eastern Finland and the University of Vaasa. Sutela has more than a decade of experience in developing education, implementing new operational models and carrying out organisational reforms.

Assistant Johanna Hellman

Academic Board

As set out in the Finnish Universities Act, the Academic Board is a multi-member governing body that represents the entire university community. Members of the Academic Board:

Eeva Moilanen

Vice Chair
Liisa Häikiö

Rapporteur for the Academic Board
Provost Jarmo Takala

Liisa Häikiö
Hannu-Matti Järvinen
Arto Laitinen
Eeva Moilanen
Matti Mäntysalo
Matti Nykter
Arri Priimägi
Juha Vinha

Other teaching and research staff and support staff
Ismo Isopoussu
Hanna Kuusela
Riikka Lahtinen
Maria Mäkelä
Soile Nymark
Sinikka Torkkola

Student representatives
Ville Jäppinen
Mikko Kauhanen
Eemeli Lahtinen
Ella Meriläinen
Suvi Parhankangas


Juho Saari, Faculty of Social Sciences (SOC)

Martti Kauranen, Faculty of Engineering and Natural Sciences (ENS)

Antti Lönnqvist, Faculty of Built Environment (BEN)

Päivi Pahta, Faculty of Education and Culture (EDU)

Matti Sommarberg, Faculty of Management and Business (MAB)

Seppo Parkkila, Faculty of Medicine and Health Technology (MET)

Jyrki Vuorinen, Faculty of Information Technology and Communication Sciences (ITC)