Skip to main content
Ihminen

Doctoral Programme in Medicine

Tampere University

Competencies to work successfully both in academic research and teaching positions as well as in other expert positions in society

Type

Postgraduate degree

Degree earned

Doctor of Health Sciences
Doctor of Medical Science
Doctor of Philosophy

Planned duration

4 years

Extent of studies

240 ECTS

City

Tampere

The aim of the doctoral studies in the Doctoral Programme in Medicine is to equip the student with the skills needed to carry out independent scientific research. The goal is to train scientific experts in the field of medicine/health who are able to work in demanding academic research and teaching positions and in other expert, development and management functions in society.

A doctoral student must acquire in-depth knowledge in his/her own field, but also develop a broader view of medicine or health sciences in general. Doctoral students should adopt scientific thinking models and good scientific conduct as well as gain versatile research skills.

The fields of study available are biostatistics, epidemiology, gerontology, global health and development, health economics, health care management, health services research, health sociology, occupational health, public health, social psychiatry and social and health policy. A doctoral degree can be awarded in all the disciplines. Most doctoral candidates do their dissertation work in one of our research groups. The field of study is determined by the supervisor’s discipline. The employment prospects for graduates in the field of health sciences or medicine are good.

In the Doctoral Programme in Medicine the student can complete the degree of Doctor of Medical Science or Doctor of Philosophy in the above mentioned disciplines. Eligible are applicants who hold the Finnish degree of Licentiate in Medicine or a corresponding degree from a corresponding higher education institution abroad.

Carefully read through the admissions requirements in Studyinfo.fi before applying. For additional questions on applying, application documents and application process, please email: soc.doctoralstudies.tau(a)tuni.fi. Questions on research plans and prospective supervisors should be addressed to Professor in Charge of the Doctoral Programme: Anssi Auvinen (anssi.auvinen [at] tuni.fi).

Questions on research plans and prospective supervisors:

  • Biostatistics: Professor Jaakko Nevalainen, jaakko.nevalainen [at] tuni.fi
  • Epidemiology: Professor Anssi Auvinen, anssi.auvinen [at] tuni.fi
  • Gerontology: Professor Anu Siren, anu.siren [at] tuni.fi
  • Global Health and Development: Professor Meri Koivusalo, meri.koivusalo [at] tuni.fi
  • Health Care Management: Professor Juho Saari, juho.saari [at] tuni.fi and Research Director Lauri Kokkinen, lauri.kokkinen [at] tuni.fi
  • Health Economics: University Lecturer Neill Booth, neill.booth [at] tuni.fi
  • Health Services Research: Professor Ilmo Keskimäki, ilmo.keskimaki [at] tuni.fi
  • Health Sociology: Professor Piia Jallinoja, piia.jallinoja [at] tuni.fi
  • Occupational Health: (not available at the moment)
  • Public Health: Professor Pilvikki Absetz, pilvikki.absetz [at] tuni.fi
  • Social Psychiatry: Professor Sami Pirkola, sami.pirkola [at] tuni.fi
  • Social and Health Policy: Professor Juho Saari, juho.saari [at] tuni.fi and Research Director Lauri Kokkinen, lauri.kokkinen [at] tuni.fi