Skip to main content

Hybrid Solar Cells (HSC)

Perovskite solar cell

Our mission is to explore novel materials and device architectures for efficient, stable, and nontoxic photovoltaics to accelerate the widespread adoption of clean and sustainable energy.

Research focus and goals

The Hybrid Solar Cells (HSC) team was launched in 2018, after over a decade of PV research carried out at the research site. The team includes seven researchers from four different countries, and closely interacts with other teams at Chemistry and Advanced Materials group for the achievement of common and team-specific goals.

The main goal of HSC team is the development of novel low-cost and solution-processable organic-inorganic materials for highly efficient, eco-friendly, and stable next generation photovoltaics (PVs), namely perovskite, dye-sensitized, and bulk heterojunction organic-inorganic solar cells.

The ongoing activities focus on the design, synthesis, and characterization of functional PV building blocks and their integration in solar cells. The optimization of the PV activity is achieved by deep understanding of the materials structure-property relationship through characterization of the photoactive materials and interfaces.

Our multidisciplinary activities dealing with chemistry, photophysics, materials science, and device engineering are supported by state-of-the-art facilities, including clean rooms, a brand new glove box, and class AAA solar simulator.

Other members

HSC team includes 3 postdoctoral researchers, and 3 Ph.D. students (two officially belonging to other teams but closely working with us). Their names are listed below:

Paola Vivo, Maning Liu, Arto Hiltunen, Murthy Grandhi, Anastasiia Matiukihna, Hannu Pasanen, Lauri Judin.

Nationally, the team collaborates with top-notch national PV groups at Åbo Akademi and Aalto University and has ongoing collaborations with some industrial partners as well. Furthermore, we interact with a wide network of international collaborators at e.g. Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, University of Cologne, Italian National Research Council, and Queensland University of Technology.