Skip to main content

Two new members join the Board of Tampere University

Published on 10.12.2019
Tampere University
Tampere University name and logo
Two members serving on the Board of Tampere University will step down at the end of their designated term on 31 December 2019. To fill the vacant seats, the Academic Board appointed two new members to the Board on Tuesday 10 December.

As set out in the Universities Act, the seven-member Board of a foundation-based university shall comprehensively represent the highest national and international expertise in the sciences and arts in the field of operation of the university and in societal and business life.

The new members appointed by the Academic Board to serve on the Board of Tampere University from 1 January 2020 to 31 December 2022 are:
DTech Anne Jalkala, Vice President, Innovation and Venturing, Fortum Oyj, Espoo
Professor Johanna Kantola, Tampere University

The Academic Board voted 13 to 5 to appoint the new Board members in accordance with the proposal issued by the Appointment Committee.

The existing members whose Board terms continue are:
Chairman of the Board, PhD Ilkka Herlin, Chairman of the Board of Cargotec Corporation
Vice Chairman of the Board, Professor Emeritus Kimmo Kontula, University of Helsinki
Professor Jari Kinaret, Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden
Professor Pirkko Liisa Raudaskoski, Aalborg University, Aalborg, Denmark
Student of social sciences Iiris Suomela, Member of Parliament

”I want to thank the Appointment Committee as well as all the members of the university community and the founding members of Tampere University Foundation who nominated candidates for Board membership. Our Board represents a balanced mix of high-level expertise and it is broadly representative of the fields and disciplines of the University. In addition, the composition of the Board now complies with the Equality Act,” says Eeva Moilanen, Vice Chair of the Academic Board.

”On behalf of the Academic Board and the entire university community, I want to extend my sincere thanks to Mayor Lauri Lyly and Executive Vice President Pekka Puustinen, who are approaching the end of their designated term, for their valuable contribution to the development of the new Tampere University.”

Inquiries about the appointment of Board members:
Vice Chair of Tampere University’s Academic Board Eeva Moilanen, tel. +358 50 305 6678, eeva.moilanen [at]