Skip to main content

A New Measure of Socioeconomic Inequalities for International Comparison - INCASI2

Project aims at building a new analytical model of socioeconomic inequalities in order to:

1. Advance understanding of the complex phenomenon of socioeconomic inequalities by creating a new analytical framework at a comparative and interdisciplinary level.

2. Build an innovative multidimensional measure (DYSIC: Dynamics of Socioeconomic Inequality in Comparison) that is global, more comprehensive and realistic in the comparative analysis of inequalities between Europe and Latin America and the Caribbean.

3. Create the INCASI Living Lab to produce diagnoses, contribute to informed decision-making and the design of public policies.

29 organisations are participating: 14 European universities from 6 countries (Spain, Italy, France, the Netherlands, Finland and Great Britain), 11 Latin American and Caribbean universities from 7 countries (Argentina, Bolivia, Cuba, Chile, Uruguay, Brazil and Mexico), and 4 non-academic organisations (Latinobarómetro, ECLAC, INTAL and LAPOP).

Our research areas

The research and special expertise areas of the interdisciplinary research group at the Tampere University include:

  • Inequality, especially from the perspective of individuals in vulnerable life situations
  • Research on the labor market and education policy
  • Comparative research, everyday life studies, and life course research
  • Global mobility, various forms and practices of solidarity and resistance, the concept and practical implications of intersectionality
Logo of the International Network for Comparative Analysis of Social Inequalities


Horizon Europe Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions

Coordinating organisation

Institute for Labour Studies (IET), Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona


Spain: Universidad Pablo de Olavide, Universitat de Barcelona, Universidad de Sevilla, Universidade de Coruña, Universidad de Laguna, Universidad Compultense de Madrid

Italy: Universita Degli Studi di Milano, Univetsita della Clabria

France: Universite Toulouse II-Jean Jaures, Fondation Nationale des Sciences Politiques

The Netherlands: Universiteit van Amsterdam