Public event

TASO & Symphonic Jazz

Tampere Academic Symphony Orchestra, TASO, performs on the 10th of December 2019 playing jazz-style pieces for an orchestra.

The Symphonic jazz concert features music by Leonard Bernstein, George Gershwin and Petri Juutilainen. The program builds on a skillful combination of jazz, world music and classical music.

The concert will also feature the premiere of Petri Juutilainen's commissioned work, A Short History of Jazz - Suite for Orchestra, that leads the listener on a jazz journey, taking us from the present to the roots of rhythm music in Africa through different genres of jazz.

The swinging program is interpreted by TASO`s artistical director Kimmo Tullila. The solo part in Rhapsody in Blue is performed by pianist Tuomas Juutilainen.

Welcome to the concert!

Symphonic jazz

Tampere Academic Symphony Orchestra
Soloist Tuomas Juutilainen, piano
Conductor Kimmo Tullila

Leonard Bernstein: Suite for the Orchestra from “Candide” (1999)
Petri Juutilainen: A Short History of Jazz - Suite for Orchestra (2019)
George Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue (1924)
George Gershwin: Porgy and Bess - Selection for Orchestra (1961)

Tickets 15/8/5 € (normal price / pensioners, conscripts, unemployed / students, children)
Buy tickets in advance from Holvi or at the door one hour before the concert!

Symphonic jazz concert on Facebook & Instagram