Skip to main content
Valotaideteos Päätalon seinässä.

University of Tampere Alumni ry

University of Tampere Alumni ry is established in 1998 and it is a first alumni association in Finland. It continues the University of Tampere’s alumni traditions and supports alumni activities with allowances.

Alumni allowances

Association supports alumni activities with allowances in accordance with the Alumni Fund regulations. Supported activities must contribute to the knowledge of the education and scientific work of the Tampere University, as well as to increase the togetherness of alumni. 

Alumni allowances are provided for the costs of alumni events, “reunions”, visiting lectures, professional life visits and mentoring programs. For example, reasonable space rents, supplies and catering costs, and marketing expenses. There is no grant for applicants' own salary or fee expenses. The grant may not exceed EUR 500,00/project.

How to apply an allowance?

Alumni allowance is applied for through a free-form application, indicating the following matters:

  • Name and contact details of the applicant
  • The amount to be sought
  • Purpose of the grant
  • Account information to which any grant will be paid
  • Description of the project for which the allowance is being sought (what is being done, by whom, to whom directed, when to be implemented)

You can send the freeform application by email to the chairperson of the University of Tampere Alumni ry:

Sanna Viitanensanna.viitanen [at] (sanna[dot]viitanen[at]kolumbus[dot]fi).

Alumni allowances can be applied for along the year. The board of alumni ry meets approximately three to four times a year to process the applications that have come.

The Board of University of Tampere Alumni ry

The affairs of the University of Tampere Alumni ry are handled by the board, which includes the chairperson elected at the annual meeting for two years at a time, and at least five and up to fourteen members.

Members of board:

  • Markus Aaltonen
  • Kirsi Heikel
  • Terhi Lintunen
  • Markus Mikola
  • Päivi Myllykangas
  • Eila Nevalainen
  • Yrjö Länsipuro
  • Outi Vanhamäki
  • Sanna Viitanen, Chairperson