Skip to main content

New Erasmus+ CBHE project with Ukraine on Digitalisation of Foreign Language teaching

Published on 16.11.2023
Tampere University
open hand painted in yellow and blue
Beginning January 1, 2024, the Languages Unit of the ITC Faculty will take the lead on an important three-year Erasmus+ Capacity Building for Higher Education project: Modernisation of university education programmes in foreign languages by integrating information technologies (DigiFLEd).

This project focuses on building the capacity of Ukrainian universities by modernising and digitalising 24 foreign language (FL) curricula. In the context of the current geo-political challenges facing Ukraine, the development of an accessible digital learning environment is crucial. DigiFLEd aims to ensure the continuity and resilience of educational processes, thereby preserving and nurturing Ukraine's human capital for the future.

The target groups are FL students, university teaching staff and school teachers. The number of persons to benefit from the project is approximately 1400. 

The project kickoff is scheduled for January 30 – February 1, 2024 in Tampere.

The kickoff will be followed by benchmarking visits of Ukrainian teams to the EU partner universities, Train-the-Trainers courses, development and piloting of seven ICT-enhanced courses for Ukrainian universities in collaboration with European peers, establishing a network of virtual resource centers, employer-networking events and a final conference. 

The project received EU funding in the amount of 718 932.00 EUR.

The DigiFLEd Consortium represents a network of 3 EU-based universities and 7 Ukrainian universities:

P1 - TAU (Tampere University, Finland) - Coordinator

P2 - NUIM (National University of Ireland Maynooth Kildare Ireland)

P3 - UOWM (University of Western Macedonia, Greece)  

P4 - KKNU (V. N. Karazin Kharkiv National University, Ukraine)  

P5 - ZSU (Zhytomyr Ivan Franko State University) 

P6 - TNPU (Ternopil Volodymyr Hnatiuk National Pedagogical University)  

P7 - MNU (V.O. Sukhomlynskyi National University of Mykolaiv, Ukraine) 

P8 - DSPU (State Higher Educational Institution Donbas State Pedagogical University, Ukraine)

P9 - DNU (Oles Honchar Dnipro National University, Ukraine) 

P10 - DONNU (Vasyl’ Stus Donetsk National University, Ukraine)

More information:

Kathleen Moore, Project PI 

Yulia Shumilova, Project manager


Photo by Elena Mozhvilo on Unsplash

Eu Cofunded -logo