Skip to main content

Academic Board appointed four members to the Board of Tampere University

Published on 25.10.2023
Tampere University
Tampere University flag.
The designated term of four members serving on the Board of Tampere University/Tampere University Foundation will come to an end on 31 December 2023. To fill the vacant seats, the Academic Board appointed four members to the Board on Tuesday 24 October 2023.

The members appointed to serve on the Board from 1 January 2024 to 31 December 2027 are:

Marina Erhola, MD, Chief Executive Officer, Wellbeing services county of Pirkanmaa
Anne Jalkala, DTech, Chief Sustainability and Strategy Officer, Vaisala
Johanna Kantola, PhD, Professor, University of Helsinki
Tiina Mikkonen, student of technology, Tampere University

The existing members whose Board terms continue until 31 December 2025 are:

Jorma Eloranta, Vuorineuvos (Finnish honorary title), DTech h.c.
Jukka Törrönen, Professor, Stockholm University
Jussi Välimaa, Professor, University of Jyväskylä

Chair of the Academic Board Eeva Moilanen warmly congratulates the appointed Board members. She also thanks the Appointment Committee for preparing the appointment as well as all the members of the university community and the founding members of Tampere University Foundation who nominated candidates for Board membership.

”On behalf of the Academic Board and the entire university community, I want to extend sincerest thanks to Outi Vaarala and Ville Tynkkynen, whose term on the Board will come to an end, for their valuable contribution to the development of Tampere University.”