Skip to main content
Komponentti

Doctoral Programme in Health Sciences

Tampere University

Become a doctor in the field of health sciences of your choice

Come and study in the Doctoral Programme in Health Sciences!

Type

Postgraduate degree

Degree earned

Doctor of Health Sciences
Doctor of Medical Science
Doctor of Philosophy

Planned duration

4 years

Extent of studies

240 ECTS

City

Tampere

The aim of doctoral studies is to enable to work successfully in both academic (researcher, teacher) and other expert positions in society. The doctoral student becomes deeply acquainted with his or her special field, but also acquires a broader view of in health sciences more generally. The aim of doctoral studies is to adopt scientific thinking and internalize good scientific practice, as well as to master the diverse skills of a researcher. The doctoral degree also makes it possible to supervise students and lead research groups.

The Doctoral Programme in Health Sciences offers doctoral degrees in health sciences or philosophy within the various fields of health sciences. An intermediate licentiate degree is also an option. A person with a master's degree, graduate degree, or a corresponding degree in health sciences may be admitted to the Doctoral Programme.

The doctoral degree in health sciences can be taken in the following fields: biostatistics, epidemiology, gerontology, nursing science, public health, social psychiatry, social and health policy, health care management, health services research, health economics, occupational health, Global Health and Development, and health sociology. Most doctoral students write their dissertations in research groups within their field of study, which is mainly defined based on the field of study of the supervisor.

With a doctoral degree, a person is able to conduct research independently and apply the ability to use scientific research methods independently and critically, and to create new health science knowledge and knowledge applications. (S)he is able to participate in a discussion about the social impact of his discipline and the importance of her/his research.

Carefully read through the admissions requirements before applying. For additional questions on applying, application documents and application process, please email: soc.doctoralstudies.tau(a)tuni.fi. Questions on research plans and prospective supervisors should be addressed to Person in Charge of the Doctoral Programme: Docent Kirsi Lumme-Sandt (kirsi.lumme-sandt [at] tuni.fi).

Questions on research plans and prospective supervisors:

  • Biostatistics: Professor Jaakko Nevalainen, jaakko.nevalainen [at] tuni.fi
  • Epidemiology: Professor Anssi Auvinen, anssi.auvinen [at] tuni.fi
  • Gerontology: Professor Anu Siren, anu.siren [at] tuni.fi
  • Global Health and Development: Professor Meri Koivusalo, meri.koivusalo [at] tuni.fi
  • Health Care Management: Professor Juho Saari, juho.saari [at] tuni.fi and Research Director Lauri Kokkinen, lauri.kokkinen [at] tuni.fi
  • Health Economics: University Lecturer Neill Booth, neill.booth [at] tuni.fi   
  • Health Services Research: Professor Ilmo Keskimäki, ilmo.keskimaki [at] tuni.fi
  • Health Sociology: Professor Piia Jallinoja, piia.jallinoja [at] tuni.fi
  • Nursing Science: Professor Eija Paavilainen, eija.paavilainen [at] tuni.fi
  • Occupational Health: (not available at the moment)
  • Public Health: Professor Pilvikki Absetz, pilvikki.absetz [at] tuni.fi
  • Social Psychiatry: Professor Sami Pirkola, sami.pirkola [at] tuni.fi
  • Social and Health Policy: Professor Juho Saari, juho.saari [at] tuni.fi and Research Director Lauri Kokkinen, lauri.kokkinen [at] tuni.fi