Skip to main content

University management

The top management of Tampere University is made up of the Board, President, Vice Presidents, Provost, Academic Board and Deans. More information and contact details can be found further down this page.


Vuorineuvos (Finnish honorary title), DTech h.c. Jorma Eloranta

Vice Chair
Professor Jussi Välimaa, University of Jyväskylä

DTech Anne Jalkala, Vice President, Innovation and Venturing, Fortum Oyj
Professor Johanna Kantola, Tampere University
MSSc Ville Tynkkynen, doctoral researcher, Tampere University
Professor Jukka Törrönen, Stockholm University
Professor Outi Vaarala, Senior Vice President, Head of Research & Development, Orion Pharma



President Mari Walls

Before joining Tampere University in autumn 2018, Mari Walls PhD served as president and CEO of LUKE Natural Resources Institute Finland. Walls wrote her dissertation on ecological interactions and, after receiving her PhD from the University of Turku in 1989, went on to pursue postdoctoral research at the University of Cornell in the USA. Walls has worked as the director of the Marine Research Centre in the Finnish Environment Institute SYKE, as professor of biodiversity and environmental sciences at the University of Turku, and as programme director at the Academy of Finland. Walls has served on the Board of the University of Oulu and on the Supervisory Board of the Finnish Cultural Foundation, among other things. She has been a member of the Academy of Finland’s Research Council for Biosciences and Environment and of the steering group monitoring the Academy’s 2016 review of the state of scientific research in Finland. Walls has participated in reviewing the public research system in Portugal, forest research in Canada and the activities of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and the Swedish Research Council for Sustainable Development FORMAS. She has also been a member of the Panel for Helsinki University Change Review.

Executive Advisor Hannele Auffermann
Executive Assistant Johanna Harju

Provost Jarmo Takala

Before taking up the position of provost at Tampere University, Jarmo Takala DTech served as vice president for research at the former Tampere University of Technology (TUT), as dean of the Faculty of Computing and Electrical Engineering and as head of the Department of Computer Systems. He has also occupied research positions at Nokia Research Center and the VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland. Takala has led numerous national and international research projects. He headed TUT’s international master’s programme in information technology and participated in setting up a bachelor’s programme in information technology and electrical engineering at TUT. Takala is an active member of international scientific associations dedicated to the advancement of information technology.

Assistant Johanna Hellman

Vice President for Education Marja Sutela

Prior to her appointment as vice president for education at Tampere University, Marja Sutela DSc (Admin) served as vice president for education and RDI at Tampere University of Applied Sciences, overseeing seven fields of study, more than 50 degree programmes and related RDI activities. Sutela has previously worked as professor of public law, assistant professor and researcher at the universities of Joensuu, Tampere and Lapland. She holds docentships in the University of Eastern Finland and the University of Vaasa. Sutela has more than a decade of experience in developing education, implementing new operational models and carrying out organisational reforms.

Assistant Johanna Hellman

Vice President for Research Tapio Visakorpi

Before his appointment as vice president for research at Tampere University, Tapio Visakorpi served as dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Technology at Tampere University and formerly as dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Life Science at the University of Tampere. Visakorpi was appointed as professor of cancer genetics at the University of Tampere in 2002. He has headed and coordinated countless national and international research projects and has been a member of the Finnish Academy of Science and Letters since 2007. In addition, Visakorpi has occupied positions of trust relating to the development of national and international research infrastructures and research funding for more than a decade.  

Assistant Johanna Hellman

Academic Board

As set out in the Finnish Universities Act, the Academic Board is a multi-member governing body that represents the entire university community. Members of the Academic Board:

Eeva Moilanen

Vice Chair
Liisa Häikiö

Rapporteur for the Academic Board
Provost Jarmo Takala

Liisa Häikiö
Hannu-Matti Järvinen
Arto Laitinen
Eeva Moilanen
Matti Mäntysalo
Matti Nykter
Arri Priimägi
Juha Vinha

Other teaching and research staff and support staff
Ismo Isopoussu
Hanna Kuusela
Riikka Lahtinen
Maria Mäkelä
Soile Nymark
Sinikka Torkkola

Student representatives
Ville Jäppinen
Mikko Kauhanen
Eemeli Lahtinen
Ella Meriläinen
Suvi Parhankangas


Juho Saari, Faculty of Social Sciences (SOC)

Martti Kauranen, Faculty of Engineering and Natural Sciences (ENS)

Antti Lönnqvist, Faculty of Built Environment (BEN)

Päivi Pahta, Faculty of Education and Culture (EDU)

Matti Sommarberg, Faculty of Management and Business (MAB)

Seppo Parkkila, Faculty of Medicine and Health Technology (MET)

Jyrki Vuorinen, Faculty of Information Technology and Communication Sciences (ITC)